Extra Time
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

FC Porto Info

Go down

FC Porto Info Empty FC Porto Info

Post by DeJesus5 Sun May 18, 2008 2:43 pm

FC Porto History

FC Porto Info 150px-Fcporto

Futebol Clube do Porto AKA FC Porto or FCP - is a Portuguese sports club best known for its footballing endeavors. It was founded in Porto in 1893. It holds the best International record by a Portuguese team, having won the European Cup and the Intercontinental Cup twice each. In 2003, it brought Portugal's first UEFA Cup and in 1987 it brought Portugal's first UEFA Supercup. Domestically they hold the best record of five titles in a row, having won the league 23 times, the Portuguese Cup 17 times and Portuguese Supercup 15 times.

The football home ground is the Estádio do Dragăo, which replaced previous home Estádio das Antas in 2003. FC Porto is also a leading force in other sports: the handball and basketball teams are regular contenders for the national titles and the roller hockey section is amongst the best in the sport worldwide. The new multi-sport arena near the stadium will be completed soon; in past years the non-professional home grounds were scattered around neighbouring cities (such as Gondomar, Matosinhos and Santo Tirso). Supporters and players of the club are nicknamed portistas.

It was founded in the northern city of Porto on September 28, 1893, by wine-salesman António Nicolau de Almeida' who had his first contact with the game of foot-ball on one of his trips to England. The club was revived in 1906 by Monteiro da Costa.

Commercially, the club has several stores called Loja Azul (English: Blue Store) scattered around the city, including two used with official supplier Nike. Since 1994, a merchandising goods fair called Portomania is organized during the pre-season. FC Porto publishes one of the older club-related publications in Europe: a monthly 60-page full-colour magazine called Dragőes (Dragons) that has existed since the early 1980s.

As for its domestic record, it holds the second best record, after SL Benfica , although in recent decade Porto has been statistically more successfull than any other team in Portugal. FC Porto played in the Portuguese championship 72 times, playing 1988 games, winning 1287, drawing 369, losing 332, scoring 4427 goals and conceding 1876, having 3204 points as of the end of the 2005-06 season.


FC Porto Info Dragao

Estádio do Dragăo (English: Dragon Stadium, literally: Stadium of the Dragon) is a football stadium in Porto, Portugal, that has an all-seated capacity of 50,476.

The stadium was built as a replacement for FC Porto's old ground, Estádio das Antas (Antas Stadium), and as a venue for EURO 2004. It was completed in 2003, some months after what was expected, since in February 2001 Porto mayor Rui Rio changed the estate distribution, criticizing the plan because it included high-scale housing and shopping for the area and forcing the chairman of FC Porto Jorge Nuno Pinto da Costa to halt all building operations, which were only resumed after a consensus was agreed.

As of today, the stadium, housing and shopping areas have been built, but the city has apparently let go of its interest in building the school and public gardens which were part of the plan, bringing up old arguments about the mayor's decision in 2001.

As requested by UEFA, the old stadium was demolished and the space used for the media during EURO 2004. In the following months, construction of the buildings that will form the new urban settlement called Cidade das Antas (City of Antas) progressively started.

Designed by Manuel Salgado and built by the Grupo Amorim, it cost €97,755,318, of which €18,430,956 was subsiized by Portuguese taxpayers. To help underwrite costs, each stand carries one or two sponsor names, edp for the South (Sul) end, tmn and Sapo adsl in the East (Nascente) stand, PT and TV Cabo for the West (Poente) stand and finally Coca-Cola in the North (Norte) Stand. Away fans are placed in the left corner of the North stand, while FC Porto supporter groups (SuperDragőes and Colectivo Ultras 95) are one on each top, although initially both groups were in the South stand.

The stadium's name is derived from the presence of a dragon on the crest of FC Porto, which is composed of an old football under the old crest of the City of Porto. It is also the nickname of FC Porto fans. Other alternatives were considered, such as Estádio das Antas (officially, unlike the former stadium) or named after Artur de Sousa Pinga, José Maria Pedroto (former players and managers) or Pinto da Costa (running president for over 20 years).

The stadium was inaugurated on 16 November 2003 with a match against FC Barcelona. FC Porto won 2-0 with goals by Derlei and Hugo Almeida. However, due to severe turf problems, FC Porto was forced to play in the old Estádio das Antas, until the turf was replanted by mid February 2004.

The stadium further cemented its reputation as an all-round sports and entertainment venue when it hosted the Portuguese leg of The Rolling Stones 2006 world tour, fighting off competition from stadiums in Lisbon. This represents something of a coup for the city of Porto over the capital.

One of the projects for the new Northern Irish national stadium in Maze (near Lisburn, built on the grounds of the disabled Maze Prison) is said to be modelled after the Dragăo. Initially planned for 30,000 seats, in order to keep up with the original plans, it went through a 12,000 seat increase. The additional costs (around 85 million pounds) are believed to be supported by possible internationals and UEFA competition finals by the local authorities.

FC Porto Honours, Trophies & Awards

Portuguese Liga :
Winners: 23
1934/35, 1938/39, 1939/40, 1955/56, 1958/59, 1977/78, 1978/79, 1984/85, 1985/86, 1987/88, 1989/90, 1991/92, 1992/93, 1994/95, 1995/96, 1996/97, 1997/98, 1998/99, 2002/03, 2003/04, 2005/06, 2006/07, 2007/08
Runners-up: 23
1935/36, 1937/38, 1940/41, 1950/51, 1953/54, 1956/57, 1957/58, 1961/62, 1962/63, 1963/64, 1964/65, 1974/75, 1979/80, 1980/81, 1982/83, 1983/84, 1986/87, 1988/89, 1990/91, 1993/94, 1999/00, 2000/01, 2004/05

Portuguese Cup :
Winners: 17
1921/22, 1924/25, 1931/32, 1936/37, 1955/56, 1957/58, 1967/68, 1976/77, 1983/84, 1987/88, 1990/91, 1993/94, 1997/98, 1999/00, 2000/01, 2002/03, 2005/06
Runners-up: 13
1923/24, 1930/31, 1952/53, 1958/59, 1960/61, 1962/63, 1977/78, 1979/80, 1980/81, 1982/83, 1984/85, 1991/92, 2003/04

Portuguese Super Cup "Cândido de Oliveira":
Winners: 15
1981, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1990, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006
Runners-up: 8
1979, 1985, 1988, 1992, 1995, 1997, 2000, 2007

European Cup/Champions' League: 2
1986/87 - Winner
2003/04 - Winner

European Super Cup: 1
1986/87 -Winner
2003 - Runner Up
2004 - Runner Up

Number of posts : 453
Location : Jersey, Channel Islands
Favourite Players : Adu, Benzema, Ronaldo7, Rio, Kaká, Messi
Supports : Benfica & Man Utd
Registration date : 2008-05-18


Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum